Search News by Keyword

F-M students win top honors at CNY Scholastic Art Awards

This photo earned F-M student Rachel Polhamus a Gold Key in the 2010 CNY Scholastic Art Awards.
Fayetteville-Manlius students took 18 Gold Key awards, five special awards and dozens of other honors at the 2010 CNY Scholastic Art Awards. 

A complete listing of all the winners from throughout Central New York, along with many images of their art, was featured in Sunday's edition of The Post-Standard and on 

The winning artworks will be on display through Feb. 26 at the Whitney Applied Technology Center at Onondaga Community College. Gallery hours are 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. weekdays and noon to 6 p.m. weekends. Admission is free.

The complete list of F-M winners is below. Special Award winners are listed first.

John D. Barrow Art Gallery Award for Best portrait 
Eric Rosenthal, Fayetteville-Manlius High School

Delavan Art Gallery Award for Best Sr. High Painting 
Eric Rosenthal, Fayetteville-Manlius High School

Director’s Award for Best Jr. High Artwork 
Kathryn Toffolo, Wellwood Middle School

Everson Museum Awards for Best of the Silver Keys 
Emily Poole, Fayetteville-Manlius High School 
Sara Toffolo, Fayetteville-Manlius High School 

Light Work Award for Best Photography Portfolio 
Samuel Centore, Fayetteville-Manlius High School

F-M High School 
Gold Key, Fine Arts Portfolio: Fiona Cunningham, Siobhan Hoye, Michael Kaplan, Jackie Riccio, Holly Terpstra. 
Honorable Mention, Fine Arts Portfolio: Rachelle Arcuri, Kathryn Boland, Samuel Centore, Jennifer Kohn, Sarah Lux, Katherine Rhea. 
Gold Key, Photography Portfolio: Rachelle Arcuri, Kaleigh BIgford, Kristen Carey, Samuel Centore, Fiona Cunningham, Chelsea Gerace, Daniela Marshall, Morgan Marshall, Jackie Riccio, Laura Swaine. 
Honorable Mention, Photography Portfolio: Ashley Hagues, Siobhan Hoye, Alicia Luke, Molly Malone, Megan Nolan, Kaitlin Spina. 
Gold Key: Morgan Drake, Drawing; Sarah Lux, Painting; Daniela Marshall, Photography; Rachel Polhamus, Photography; Jackie Riccio, Photography; Eric Rosenthal, Painting; Christie Rutledge, Drawing; Sara Toffolo, Drawing and Photography; Annmarie Wiehenstroer, Drawing; Maggie Zhang, Photography. 
Silver Key: Alexa Capozzi, Drawing; Mackenzie Carter, Photography (two pieces); Fiona Cunningham, Photography and Drawing; Mia D’Aloisio, Drawing; Emily Dibble, Drawing; Toni Hines, Drawing; Michael Kaplan, Painting; Chelsea Knittel, Drawing; Molly Malone, Drawing; Kathryn Mason, Painting; Meghan O’Leary, Drawing; Benjamin Perrotti, Drawing; Rachel Polhamus, Drawing (two pieces); Emily Poole, Drawing; Katherine Rhea, Ceramics & Glass; Jackie Riccio, Drawing; Nicole Steinberg, Drawing; Laura Swaine, Photography; Holly Terpstra, Painting; Kathryn Toffolo, Drawing; Sara Toffolo, Drawing; Lucinda Wong, Painting; Maggie Zhang, Photography. 
Honorable Mention: Natalie Alibrandi, Rachelle Arcuri (three pieces), JoAnna Armstrong, Jake Barnes, Kathryn Boland, Stephanie Brunet, Olivia Calancie, Mackenzie Carter, Samuel Centore, Caitlin Cummings, Fiona Cunningham, Emily Dibble, Grace Donohue, Toni Hines, Chelsea Knittel, Jennifer Kohn, Diana Lam, Lucia Lee, Julia Ma, Molly Malone, Morgan Marshall, Kathryn Mason, Karly Neuss, Benjamin Perrotti, Rachel Polhamus (two pieces), Noelle Pomfrey, Taylor Robinson, Eric Rosenthal, Joe Satterfield, Danielle Steinberg, Megan Stoeckel (two pieces), Ellen Sweder, Gabrielle Tawil, Holly Terpstra, Crissy Thomas, Kathryn Toffolo, Audrey Wallace (two pieces), Jules Wellner, Annmarie Wiehenstroer, Maggie Zhang. 

Eagle Hill Middle School 
Gold Key: Michelle Korrie, Drawing; Sophia Roberts, Drawing. 
Silver Key: Shawna Carney, Sculpture; Rachel Dise, Drawing; Amanda Gifford, Drawing; Mackenzie Kingsley, Drawing; Olivia Pinner, Drawing;
Zoe Wellner, Drawing. 
Honorable Mention: Shannon Fullam, Abigayle Konys, Julia Kuppermann, Alyssa Napier, Emily Robinson. 

Wellwood Middle School 
Gold Key: Kathryn Toffolo, Drawing (two pieces). 
Silver Key: Sofia Elbadawi, Ceramics & Glass; Peter Pascucci, Drawing; LeAnn Smith, Drawing. 
Honorable Mention: Gillian Boyko, Ella Chapman, Hannah Hebert, Ericka Longo, Marri Ryu, Jennifer Sipple, LeAnn Smith, Lucinda Wong (two pieces).

F-M student Jackie Riccio won a Gold Key in the 2010 Scholastic Art Awards for this photograph.

F-M student Jackie Riccio won a Gold Key in the 2010 Scholastic Art Awards for this photograph.

F-M student Eric Rosenthal won a Gold Key in the 2010 CNY Scholastic Art Awards with this painting.

F-M student Eric Rosenthal won a Gold Key in the 2010 CNY Scholastic Art Awards with this painting.

The links in the area will let you leave the Fayetteville-Manlius School District site. The linked sites are not under control of the District and the District is not responsible for the contents of any linked site or any link contained in a linked site, or any changes or updates to such sites. The District is providing these links to you only as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement nor responsibility by the District of the content of the site.