Board elects president and vice president for 2022-23 school year

The Fayetteville-Manlius School District Board of Education has elected a president and vice president for the 2022-23 school year.A gavel and books on a desk.

During the board’s annual re-organizational meeting, which took place July 11, board members re-elected Marissa Joy Mims to serve as board president and Sharon Lindars as vice president. The positions are one-year terms.

Also during the meeting, Superintendent Craig J. Tice and three board members took the oath of office for their respective positions. In May, district residents re-elected Daryll Fitch Wheeler and elected Sarah Fitzgerald and Cynthia Hefti to serve three-year terms on the board, which began July 1.

In addition to the elected members, the board includes a non-voting student member selected each year by the administration to serve a one-year term. The student, who must be a senior at F-M High School, attends all public meetings and is allowed to participate in all public discussions. Administrators are in the process of selecting this year’s student member.

The board of education is the school district’s official policy-making body. It is comprised of nine school district residents who voters elect during an annual election, which is held the same day as the school district budget vote. Terms are staggered so that three members are elected each year. They are not compensated for their work as board members.