F-M students succeed in National French Contest

Seventy Fayetteville-Manlius School District students were recently recognized for their achievements on a national French contest.

In March, F-M French students in grades 7-12,  and nearly 75,000 students nationwide, participated in the 2018 Le Grand Concours National French Contest by completing an online exam. The test evaluates students’ knowledge of French vocabulary, grammar and culture.

Contest results were announced in June and awards were distributed based on percentile scores. F-M students were awarded 36 medals for their test performances, including three gold medals, 15 silver and 18 bronze, and 34 Honorable Mention awards.

The following F-M students earned awards for their performance in their respective levels:

Fayetteville-Manlius High School

Gold Medal

Maximilian Du

Silver Medal

Lydia Sprague
Daniel Li
Michael Khmelkov
Abduallah Abouelamayem
Flavia Scott
Katherine Miles
Nicole Shanguhyia
Andy Sun
Matthew Crovella
Laura Haight
Rachel Liu

Bronze Medal

Lauren Moroz
Ireland Fernandez-Cosgrove
Emma Sereluca
Sadie Fridley
Skye Margiotta
Maryam Rahaman
Olivia Pilewski
Ethan Ferguson
Emily Shiroff
Alexis Smith
Lauren Hodgkins
Olivia Kettell
Christina Nguyen

Honorable Mention

Dimitra Cappers, Owen Kimbrough, Abigail Flatau, Sarah Duntley, Paige Nelligan, Sara Trop, Hannah Smith, Alexander Ball, Aiden O’Brien, Hannah Center, Jewel Samonte, Samantha Sibert, Michelle Shanguhyia, Madeline Means, Miriam Brown, and Jenna Schugart.

Eagle Hill Middle School

Gold Medal

Anna Manta
Lidia McDaniel

Silver Medal

Parisa Ahmed
Cadence Panol

Bronze Metal

Brennan Jolly
Elena Coman
Teodora Freamat

Honorable Mention

Mary Feck, Cecilia Lobo, Laura Scalzetti, Omar Bou Aram, Lauren Clark, Tochi Ezidiegwu, Greta Hansen-Schwoebel, Kendall Clark, Olivia Kimbrough, Samanta Buckles, Joshua So, and Sommer Lugert.

Wellwood Middle School

Silver Metal

Abdulrahman Abouelamayem
Cameron Worden

Bronze Metal

Kaelem Michel
Erica Westpfal

Honorable Mention

Gene Balian, Carine Smith, Grace Meagher, Yasmine Brimelli, Riley Partridge, and Zeynep Ozcelik.