F-M educators named Master Teachers

Four Fayetteville-Manlius School District educators were recently named New York State Master Teachers by Gov. Andrew Cuomo.

“The Master Teacher Program creates a community of teachers experts dedicated to providing a first-rate learning experience for students across New York, and contributes to our efforts to attract and retain the best and brightest in our STEM classrooms,” Gov. Cuomo said.

The statewide program identifies and rewards high-performing K-12 instructors who teach science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) classes, including courses on the advanced-placement, honors, Regents and International Baccalaureate levels.

Among the 214 inductees, joining the program this year are Eagle Hill Middle School science teacher Mr. Nicholas Kirby, Wellwood Middle School science teacher Mrs. Wendy Wolf-Blasland and F-M High School educators Mr. Benjamin Gnacik, who teaches science, and Mrs. Elaina Hajduk, who teaches math.

Throughout their four-year participation in the program, Master Teachers receive a $15,000 annual stipend, engage in peer mentoring and professional development opportunities, and attend regional cohort meetings. The program is designed to boost STEM academics and is supported by State University of New York (SUNY) campus partners in each region of the state.

The latest round of inductees brings New York state’s total to 908 Master Teachers.