F-M High School students earn NYS Seal of Civic Readiness

For the first time in the Fayetteville-Manlius School District, 33 F-M High School students will receive the New York State Seal of Civic Readiness distinction on their diploma this June.

The Seal of Civic Readiness is a formal recognition that a student has attained a high level of proficiency in terms of civic knowledge, skills, mindset, and experiences, according to the New York State Education Department.

To earn the Seal of Civic Readiness, a student must:

  • Complete all requirements for a New York State local or Regents diploma
  • Demonstrate civic knowledge by earning coursework and/or exam credit
  • Demonstrate civic participation by earning service-learning, work-based learning, extra-curricular participation, coursework and/or project credit

Most of the credit can be earned in social studies classes. Opportunities to earn credit have also been incorporated into other courses, such as journalism and environmental sciences, in an effort to make the program more accessible to all F-M High School students.

“We want F-M graduates to find their voice, feel empowered and have the tools necessary to make a positive difference in the world today and in the future,” said Todd Sorensen, F-M High School Social Studies Instructional Specialist and Seal of Civic Readiness Coordinator. “I look forward to growing this program and encouraging more civic engagement by our incredible students.”

Students in grades 9-12 can participate in the program and work toward earning credit to obtain the seal. Sign-ups and informational opportunities for students are available in the fall.

2024 NYS Seal of Civic Readiness F-M Recipients

Trisha Adavikolanu
Hira Ahmadzai
Alvin Bi
Abby Bird
Chris Caiello
Lydia Davidson
Yaswanth Devalla
Sofia Dong
Justin Dunn
Robyn (Rylen) Fong
Alexis Forbes
Nithyasri Gangireddy
Trent Gloo
Catherine Gorman
Julianna Hall
Haley Harblin
Elizabeth Hsu
Jayanthan Karthikeyan
Sofia Kenney
Sydney King
Tessa Komar
Laila Maghraoui
Minerva Miller
Anjali Mitra
Alden Nash
Andrew Nocilly
Emmeline Reinhardt
Aurora Santangelo
Bryce Sharpe
William (Xavier) Sul
Chingyang (Stephen) Wu
Kaylee Yang
Colden Yarah