Board of education recognizes achievements and board service

The Fayetteville-Manlius Board of Education recently recognized the achievements and contributions of many students, staff and community members, including two outgoing board members.

At its June 11 meeting, the board recognized John Cucinotta for his 27 years of service on the board and Lisa Lukasiewicz Izant for her nine years. Both of their terms expire June 30; neither opted to seek re-election to the board for another three-year term.

During their tenures on the board, each served in various leadership positions and on board committees, including its facilities committee. Bringing a comprehensive capital project to the community that addressed the many infrastructure issues district buildings are saddled with was a priority for each of them, and one that was met when voters in May approved a $45.2 million capital project.

“The district took a big step in the right direction,” Dr. Cucinotta said.

Dr. Cucinotta had retired from the board in 2014, but then sought election again a year later, in 2015. He said that when he left the board, he thought he was done with board service, as he had previously served on the Liverpool Central School District’s Board of Education for 10 years. But once he stepped away from F-M, he felt he needed to return to continue working on the district’s facilities issues.

Including his time at Liverpool, Dr. Cucinotta served a total of 37 years as a board of education member.

“It’s something that I truly loved and will miss,” he said.

In addition to recognition from the F-M board, Central New York School Boards Association Executive Director Charles Borgognoni was at the meeting to recognize Dr. Cucinotta and Dr. Izant for their years of service to the district and community.

Dr. Izant said that in addition to the May capital project proposal, she was particularly proud of working on the development of the construction of the district’s bus garage on Franklin Street in Fayetteville and renovations to the transportation office building, both of which voters approved in 2011.

“It’s been an honor and a privilege to serve the children of this district,” she said.

Other Recognitions

The board of education recognized the service and/or achievements of several other students, staff members and community members during its June 11 meeting, including the following:

New York State School Boards Association

Board President Daryll Wheeler was recognized for earning a Level 1 Board Achievement Award from the New York State School Boards Association’s School Board U Recognition Program.

Student Board Member

F-M High School senior Patrice Calancie was recognized for serving as a non-voting member on the F-M Board of Education for the 2017-18 school year. A student member is selected each year to sit with the board, attend all public board meetings, participate in all public discussions and voice his or her opinions.

F-M High School Science Olympiad Team

First-place finish at New York State Science Olympiad competition: Nick Corso, Max Du, Ethan Ferguson, Grace Gu, Matt Hasenwinkel, Michael Jia, Misha Khmelkov, George Langenberg, Lucy Langenberg, Daniel Li, Alex Mihaila, Lauren Pacheco, Bobby Stewart, Eli Taeckens, Kathy Yang and their coach Josh Buchman.

National Scholastic Art Awards

Adrianna Angotti (Silver Portfolio), Sydney Ashby (Gold Key), Marion Avila (Silver Key), Michael Jia (Silver Key), Hope Myhill (Silver Key), Carson Plew (Silver Key) and Lisa Zhou (Gold Key and American Visions Award).

New York State Section III Class AA Indoor Track and Field 4 x 800 Meter Relay; First Place

Sophie Ryan, Claire Walters, Rebecca Walters, Phoebe White and their coaches, Bill Aris, Kyle Brazeil and Alex Devine.

New York State Scholastic Championship Title Boys Novice 4+

James Dziergas, Maria Moreau, Jake O’Connor, Michael Osterhaudt, William Summer and their coaches Joy Strickland and David Cusano.


The following staff members were recognized for achieving tenure: Lisa Baribeau, Lisa Beach, Bethany DeWolf, John Farruggio, Jennifer Gregory, Karen Hance, Jonna Johnson, Kristen Kettell, Katie Kretschmer, Dr. Karen Liparulo, Erik Lutters, Rachel Tonkovich and David Webster.


All-Sports Booster Club: Jack Stauffer

Backstage Backers: Lisa Corso

F-M Education Foundation: Tracy Romano and Lily Lok

Eagle Hill Home and School Association: Alicia Burgun

Enders Road Home and School Association: Ginger Roddy and Becca Taurisano

Fayetteville Elementary Home and School Association: Allison Perry and Jaclyn Strazzulla

F-M High School Home and School Association: Christina Percoski

Mott Road Home and School Association: Amy Kruse

Wellwood Home and School Association: Didi Frechette and Felicia Sharples