F-M Hall of Distinction will induct new members Jan. 11

The achievements of four Fayetteville-Manlius School District alumni will be celebrated during the district’s upcoming Hall of Distinction induction ceremony, which is set for Jan. 11.This is an image of the Youtube and Pride Tree logos and text

Since its start in 2000, the F-M Hall of Distinction has recognized more than 40 individuals. The program’s goal is to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of outstanding F-M graduates and to inspire current students. 

The Hall of Distinction will induct the following individuals during a virtual ceremony 6 p.m. Jan. 11:

  • Indu Ahluwalia, PhD, MPH – Class of 1980
    Global Tobacco Branch Chief – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Michael C. Andrews – Class of 1967
    Former Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer – Shriners International 
  • Cynthia E. Slavens – Class of 1988
    Director of Studio Mastering and Operations – Pixar Animation Studios
  • Eric Tars – Class of 1994
    Legal Director – National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty

The Hall of Distinction inducts new members every two years. The upcoming ceremony was originally scheduled for last spring, but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Jan. 11 event will be virtual and community members can watch a live stream of the presentation on the district’s YouTube channel.

Graduates eligible for selection to the Hall of Distinction have exemplified the tenets of F-M’s educational philosophy throughout their lives, will have been graduated from F-M for at least 15 years and will meet one or both of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding social contribution to the broader community by making a difference in the lives of others; and/or
  • Outstanding professional contribution to, or achievement in, their field of endeavor.

Inductees are nominated by members of the public and selected by a committee of seven individuals. The committee includes an F-M Board of Education member, the superintendent, an assistant superintendent, a building principal and three teachers.