F-M seniors named Commended Students in national scholarship program

Twelve Fayetteville-Manlius School District students were recently named Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program, which recognizes high scholastic achievement.

F-M High School seniors Leila Badul-Malak, Matthew Crovella, Sarah Duntley, Nicolas Gascon, Laura Haight, Edward Kinslow, Daniel Li, Alexandru Mihaila, Annaliese Ouyang, Luca Pieples, Alex Talarico, and Angela Wu were named Commended Students based on their 2017 Preliminary Standardized Achievement Test (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (NMSQT) scores.

“These students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) spokesperson said. “They represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in the academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

The 2019 cohort of Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT. About 34,000 Commended Students nationwide are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise, according to a NMSC press release.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.