Students earn medals on National French Contest

Earlier this spring, Fayetteville-Manlius School District French-language students in grades 7-12 participated in the 2020 National French Contest, an online test of students’ listening, reading and grammar skills in French. The This is the logo of the National French Contest.test is sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of French, and students in all 50 states and abroad compete against students with similar educational backgrounds for prizes.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s testing window was extended and students could participate through a remote proctoring process.

The following students earned medals based on their performance on the exam.

Fayetteville-Manlius High School


  • Level 3
    Parisa Ahmed
    Wyatt McDaniel 
  • Level 2
    Gene Balian
    Omar Bou Aram 


  • Level 5
    Katherine Miles
    Michael Khmelkov

  • Level 4
    Aletheia Ieta

  • Level 3
    Jason Cavanaugh
    Anna Manta
    Cadence Panol
    Laura Scalzetti
    Cameron Worden

  • Level 2
    Olivia Kimbrough


  • Level 5
    Christina Nguyen
    Lucas Souchière
    Alexis Smith

  • Level 4
    Anny Li
    Ana Obradovic

  • Level 3
    Abdulrahman Abouelamayem
    Elena Coman
    Brennan Jolly
    Erica Westpfal

  • Level 2
    Madison Brown
    Mary Feck

Honorable Mention

  • Level 5
    Maximilian Du
    Carlin Feck
    Lauren Hodgkins
    Flavia Scott
    Sarah Sharples

  • Level 4
    Sara Elzourkany
    Sophia Latoff
    Emma Sereluca
    Andy Sun

  • Level 3
    Christopher Dame
    Tochi Ezidiegwu
    Greta Hansen-Schwoebel
    Sommer Lugert

  • Level 2
    Evan Cappers
    Mae Cohen
    Claire Lee
    Mara McBride
    Molly McNany
    Grace Vanderwater
    Lindsey Xiao

Eagle Hill Middle School


  • Level I
    Angela Dong
    Carly Hack
    Emmeline Reinhardt


  • Level I
    Noa de Rosa-Anderson
    Addison Salomon

  • Level 01
    Michaela Burke


  • Level 1
    Jessica Aldana
    Rebekah Beasley
    Patricia Justiniano
    Hillary Loh
    Eric Yao

Honorable mention

  • Level 1
    Kambyll Carr
    Somya Chokraborty

  • Level 01
    Caroline Colette
    Annika Dharwadkar
    Ava Gillespsie
    Owen Sacks
    Michaela Scalzetti
    Manal Thib
    Mira Zhang

Wellwood Middle School

Honorable mention

Selena Chen
Haley Harblin
Benjamin Matthews
Aubrey Jones-Pike